Willow blog

Chelsea, Spurs and Fulham triumph at London Football Awards

March 3, 2017

Football heavyweights Frank Lampard, N’Golo Kante, Antonio Conte, Dele Alli and Hugo Lloris were amongst those to have won trophies alongside Tom Cairney and unsung heroes from Fulham at the 2017 London Football Awards.

Seven of the eight award winners accepted their trophies in person. The prestigious awards ceremony was hosted by BBC presenter Gary Lineker OBE at Battersea Evolution on March 2, 2017.

In its third year, the London Football Awards, sponsored by Toscafund, raised more than £200,000 for Willow.

Announced on the night, was Frank Lampard as the winner of Outstanding Contribution to London Football (sponsored by GM Real Estate), who accepted the trophy from former England manager, Roy Hodgson.

Winners of the Awards plus all nominees and presenters were:

Premier League Player of the Year

Premier League Player of the Year
(sponsored by Toscafund)
Winner – N’Golo Kante (Chelsea)
Presented by Ian Wright
Dele Alli (Tottenham)
Alexis Sanchez (Arsenal)
Diego Costa (Chelsea)
Danny Rose ((Tottenham)

London Manager of the Year

(sponsored by footballmanager.com)
Winner – Antonio Conte (Chelsea)
Presented by John Motson OBE
Mauricio Pochettino (Tottenham)
Neil Harris (Millwall)
Neal Ardley (AFC Wimbledon)
Slaviša Jokanović (Fulham)

EFL Player of the Year
(sponsored by Multiplex)
Winner – Tom Cairney (Fulham)
Presented by George Cohen MBE
Scott Hogan (former Brentford)
John Akinde (Barnet)
Alex Smithies (QPR)
Sone Aluko (Fulham)

London Young Player of the Year (under-23)
(sponsored by Umbro)
Winner – Dele Alli (Tottenham)
Presented by Gary Mabbutt
Hector Bellerin (Arsenal)
Ademola Lookman (former Charlton)
Ryan Sessegnon (Fulham)
Alex Iwobi (Arsenal)

London Women’s Player of the Year
(sponsored by Barclays)
Winner – Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal)
Presented by Kelly Simmons MBE
Eni Aluko (Chelsea)
Karen Carney (Chelsea)
Katie Chapman (Chelsea)
Danielle Carter (Arsenal)

London Goalkeeper of the Year
(sponsored by Ideal Bathrooms)
Winner – Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
Presented by Pat Jennings OBE
Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea)
Alex Smithies (QPR)
Darren Randolph (West Ham)
Jordan Archer (Millwall)

London Community Project of the Year
(sponsored by the FA)
Winner – Fulham – Feltham Young Offenders Institute
Presented by Paul Elliott
Crystal Palace – Powerchair Football
Leyton Orient – DCD Football

Along with Lampard, other nominees and winners attended the 2017 ceremony, including: Dele Alli, Hugo Lloris, Eni Aluko, N’Golo Kante, Antonio Conte, Neal Ardley, Neil Harris, Jordan Archer, Tom Cairney, Ryan Sessegnon and Alex Smithies.

Other current and former players who attended the 2017 London Football Awards include: Arsenal: Lee Dixon; Ian Wright MBE; Bob Wilson OBE; David Seaman MBE, Alan Smith; Perry Groves; Rachel Yankey OBE Tottenham: Gary Lineker; Gary Mabbutt MBE, Clive Allen, Ossie Ardiles; Dean Austin; Pat Jennings OBE; Cliff Jones; Chelsea: Frank Lampard; Eniola Aluko; John Hollins MBE; QPR: Alex Smithies; Frank Sibley, Roger Morgan, Ian Morgan; Andy Sinton, Mark Lazarus; Millwall: Neil Harris; Jordan Archer Fulham: Tom Cairney; Ryan Sessegnon; George Cohen MBE, Moritz Volz, Simon Morgan; West Ham: Sir Trevor Brooking, Tony Cottee; Bobby Zamora Crystal Palace: Mark Bright; Geoff Thomas; John Salako Charlton: Garry Nelson; Paul Elliott CBE; Wimbledon: Stewart Castledine; and Roy Hodgson and John Motson OBE.

Nominees and winners of the awards were selected by an expert judging panel from the worlds of football and media, from former players to major footballing bodies, and sports media, including Sky Sports, BBC, The Telegraph, Evening Standard and talkSPORT.

For more information visit www.londonfootballawards.org.

To view photos from the 2017 ceremony, please click here to visit the Willow Flickr page.