Willow blog

Kane, Hodgson & Sessegnon triumph at the London Football Awards 2018

March 5, 2018

Harry Kane and the EFL Clubs were triumphant at this year’s London Football Awards.

Fulham’s teenage sensation Ryan Sessegnon scooped two awards, including Young Player of the Year. Brentford’s Daniel Bentley beat the Premier League’s ‘big guns’ to win a trophy on the night, while QPR’s community team received a standing ovation for their work on #Game4Grenfell. Man of the moment, Kane was awarded the much coveted 2018 Premier League Player of the Year award. The prestigious awards ceremony was hosted by BBC presenter, Mark Chapman at Battersea Evolution on March 1, 2018.

In its fourth year, the London Football Awards, sponsored by Toscafund, raises funds for former Arsenal goalkeeper and TV presenter, Bob Wilson OBE and his wife, Megs’ charity, Willow – the only national charity working with seriously ill young adults aged 16 to 40 to fulfil uplifting and unforgettable Special Days.

This year’s winner of the  Outstanding Contribution to London Football (sponsored by Weston Homes), was former West Ham United, Crystal Palace and Arsenal striker, Ian Wright MBE, who collected his Award from Mark Bright on the night. In his acceptance speech he said:

“I came to the game late; I was 22 and retired when I was 36. I’m now 54 and it’s taken me this long to win an award! Seriously though, this London Football Award, which comes from Bob Wilson’s charity, Willow, means more to me than anything in the world.” 

He then gave special thanks to his former Crystal Palace team mate, Mark Bright, saying: “I remember when I came in as a Sunday morning player; it was Mark Bright who taught me how to be a professional. I am up here simply because of the guiding light that Mark has been on my football career and he has to get some credit for that.”

Winners of the Awards, plus all nominees and presenters were:

Premier League Player of the Year 
(sponsored by Toscafund)
Winner – Harry Kane – Tottenham Hotspur
Presented by Gary Mabbutt
César Azpilicueta – Chelsea
Christian Eriksen – Tottenham Hotspur
Heung-Min Son – Tottenham Hotspur
Wilfried Zaha – Crystal Palace

Manager of the Year
(sponsored by Football Manager)
Winner – Roy Hodgson – Crystal Palace
Presented by Lennie Lawrence
Emma Hayes – Chelsea Ladies
Slaviša Jokanović – Fulham
Neil Harris – Millwall
Mauricio Pochettino – Tottenham Hotspur

EFL Player of the Year
(sponsored by Corney & Barrow)
Winner – Ryan Sessegnon – Fulham
Presented by Bobby Zamora
Josh Clarke – Brentford
George Saville – Millwall
Romaine Sawyers – Brentford
Alex Smithies – Queens Park Rangers

Goalkeeper of the Year
(sponsored by Frogmore)
Winner – Daniel Bentley – Brentford
Presented by Bob Wilson OBE
Adrián – West Ham United
Thibaut Courtois – Chelsea
Heurelho Gomes – Watford
Hugo Lloris – Tottenham Hotspur

Women’s Player of the Year
(sponsored by Coutts)
Winner – Jordan Nobbs – Arsenal Women
Presented by Kelly Smith MBE
Millie Bright – Chelsea Ladies
Danielle Carter – Arsenal Women
Katie Chapman – Chelsea Ladies
Fran Kirby – Chelsea Ladies

Young Player of the Year (under-23) 
(sponsored by Zeus)
Winner – Ryan Sessegnon – Fulham
Presented by Sol Campbell
Andreas Christensen – Chelsea
Ainsley Maitland-Niles – Arsenal
Davinson Sánchez – Tottenham Hotspur
Harry Winks – Tottenham Hotspur

Community Project of the Year
(sponsored by the FA)
Winner – QPR in the Community Trust – #Game4Grenfell
Presented by David Seaman MBE and Danny Jones
Runners up:
AFC Wimbledon Foundation – AFC Wimbledon Women and Girls
Brentford Community Sports Trust – The Fearless Foundation’s Journalism Project

Along with Ian Wright, other nominees and winners attended the 2018 ceremony, including: Ryan Sessegnon, Roy Hodgson, Daniel Bentley, Jordan Nobbs, Slaviša Jokanović, Josh Clarke and Romaine Sawyers.

Willow Life President Bob Wilson, said: “Once again this season, football in London – in the Premier League, the Football League and the Women’s game – has been dramatic and exciting. The London Football Awards is a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the skills of our nominees, which we have seen on the pitches of the Capital over the last few months, as well as all the outstanding community work achieved by the clubs.”

Nominees and winners of the awards are selected by an expert judging panel from the worlds of football and media, from former players to major footballing bodies, and sports media, including Sky Sports, BBC, The Telegraph, Evening Standard and talkSPORT.