Willow blog

London Football Awards 2015

February 10, 2015

Unsung heroes of London football will be recognised alongside footballing heroes Hazard, Sanchez, Fabregas and Mourinho at the 2015 London Football Awards on March 5 at Battersea Evolution, London. The winners of the remaining awards will be announced at the event, hosted by Soccer AM’s Max Rushden. Former players and TV pundits Lee Dixon, Glenn Hoddle and Tony Cottee take part in a Q&A on the night.

Nominees for the Awards include:

London Player of the Year
•    Eden Hazard (Chelsea)
•    Alexis Sánchez (Arsenal)
•    Cesc Fàbregas (Chelsea)
•    Diego Costa (Chelsea)
•    Christian Eriksen (Tottenham)    

London Manager of the Year
•    José Mourinho (Chelsea)
•    Sam Allardyce (West Ham)
•    Mark Warburton (Brentford)
•    Martin Allen (Barnet)
•    Neal Ardley (AFC Wimbledon)

London Goalkeeper of the Year
•    Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)
•    Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea)
•    Robert Green (QPR)
•    Adrián San Miguel del Castillo (West Ham)

London Young Player of the Year (under-23)
•    Harry Kane (Tottenham)
•    Alex Pritchard (Brentford on loan from Tottenham)
•    Carl Jenkinson (West Ham on loan from Arsenal)
•    Ryan Mason (Tottenham)

Further Awards to be announced on the night include London Women’s Player of the Year, Outstanding Contribution to a London Club and London Community Project of the Year.

Past winners to have attended include Aaron Ramsey, Ledley King and Roy Hodgson, to name a few.  

“We have expanded the categories this year to fully recognise and celebrate the very best of London Football. We are particularly proud to include the London Community Project of the Year Award. The awards ceremony is a high-profile event supported and attended by some of London’s top footballing names and it is an important fundraiser for Willow.” Bob Wilson, Arsenal legend and Willow Life President & Co-founder.

Players expected to attend the 2015 Awards include Lee Dixon; Ledley King; Alan Smith; Martin Chivers; Jimmy Greaves; Geoff Hurst; John Hollins; Luther Blissett; John Salako; George Cohen; Bob Wilson and Ossie Ardiles.

Find out more