Willow blog

Son, Pochettino & Rice triumph at the prestigious footballing event

March 1, 2019

Tottenham triumphed at this year’s London Football Awards, with player, Heung-Min Son and manager, Mauricio Pochettino taking home the top awards. Son beat teammate and last year’s winner, Kane, to be awarded the much coveted 2019 Premier League Player of the Year award, while Pochettino, was awarded Manager of the Year, having previously won it in 2016. Other winners to scoop trophies on the night included West Ham’s Rice, Watford’s Foster, Arsenal’s Miedema and Brentford’s Maupay. The prestigious awards ceremony was hosted by sports presenter Laura Woods at Battersea Evolution on February 28, 2019.
This year’s winner of the Outstanding Contribution to London Football (sponsored by Weston Homes), was former Spurs, Chelsea and England footballer and manager, Glenn Hoddle.
A one-off award for 2019 to recognise a momentous victory was for Goal of the Year, won by Crystal Palace’s Andros Townsend who was there to accept his trophy on the night. The goal, a volley from the outside area, was during their 3-2 win against Manchester City at the Etihad Stadium on December, 22 2018.

Winners of the Awards, plus all nominees and presenters were:

Premier League Player of the Year 
(sponsored by Toscafund)

Winner – Heung-Min Son -Tottenham Hotspur
Presented by David Ginola

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Arsenal
Eden Hazard – Chelsea
Harry Kane MBE – Tottenham Hotspur
Andros Townsend – Crystal Palace

Manager of the Year
(sponsored by BH2)

Winner – Mauricio Pochettino – Tottenham Hotspur
Presented by Ossie Ardiles

Lee Bowyer – Charlton Athletic
Javi Gracia – Watford
Joe Montemurro – Arsenal Women
Maurizio Sarri – Chelsea

EFL Player of the Year
(sponsored by Sky Bet)

Winner – Neal Maupay – Brentford
Presented by Stuart Pearce

Luke Freeman – Queens Park Rangers
Karlan Grant – Charlton Athletic
Lee Gregory – Millwall
Lyle Taylor – Charlton Athletic

Goalkeeper of the Year
(sponsored by Multiplex)

Winner – Ben Foster – Watford
Presented by Pat Jennings

Kepa Arrizabalaga – Chelsea
Łukasz Fabiański – West Ham United
Joe Lumley – Queens Park Rangers
Dillon Phillips – Charlton Athletic

Women’s Player of the Year
(sponsored by Computacenter)

Winner – Vivianne Miedema– Arsenal Women
Presented by Joe Montemurro

Erin Cuthbert – Chelsea Women
Rianna Dean – Tottenham Hotspur Ladies
Jordan Nobbs – Arsenal Women
Ji So-Yun– Chelsea Women

Young Player of the Year (under-21) 
(sponsored by Zeus Capital)

Winner – Declan Rice – West Ham United
Presented by Tony Cottee

Eberechi Eze – Queens Park Rangers
Karlan Grant – Charlton Athletic
Mattéo Guendouzi – Arsenal
Aaron Wan-Bissaka – Crystal Palace

The FA ‘For All’ Award
(Sponsored by The Football Association)

Winners – Essex County FA – Muslimah Sports Association (MSA)
Presented by Kelly Smith MBE

Runners up:
London County FA – St. Matthews Project
Surrey County FA – Inclusive Schools League

Community Project of the Year
(sponsored by the Evening Standard)

Winner – Chelsea Foundation – Say No To Antisemitism
Presented by Troy Townsend

Runners up:
Arsenal in the Community – Drawn Out
Brentford FC Community Sports Trust – Ambassadors Project

The inaugural ‘For All’ Award, sponsored by The FA, recognises a grassroots project or club linked to a County FA in the London area, which supports diversity, inclusion and engages with underrepresented groups participating in football. The winner, Muslimah Sports Association (MSA), actively encourages BAME females to be ‘all they can be’, using sport and physical activity to break down barriers and create role models. MSA played a pivotal role in providing advice and guidance to Essex County FA in being able to successfully deliver a fully inclusive Level 1 football coaching course, which 16 females completed.
Nominees and winners who attended the 2019 ceremony include: Heung-Min Son, Mauricio Pottechino, Neal Maupay, Declan Rice, Andros Townsend, Joe Montemurro and Rianna Dean.
Other current and former players who attended the 2019 London Football Awards include: Arsenal: Alan Smith, Bob Wilson, George Graham, Kelly Smith, Lee Dixon, Perry Groves. Charlton: Mark Bright. Chelsea: Eddie Newton Crystal Palace: Roy Hodgson. QPR: Andy Sinton, Mark Lazurus. Tottenham: Clive Allen, David Pleat, Karen Hills, Keith Burkinshaw, Martin Chivers, Ossie Ardiles, Pat Jennings, Paul Miller. West Ham: Carlton Cole, Marlon Harewood, Stuart Pearce and Tony Cottee.
Willow Life President Bob Wilson OBE, said: “The London Football Awards is a fantastic opportunity to celebrate the skills of our nominees, as well as the outstanding community work achieved by the clubs and County FAs. It’s been a dramatic and exciting season for all the capital’s clubs.”
Nominees and winners of the awards have been selected by an expert judging panel from the worlds of football and media, from former players to major footballing bodies, and sports media, including Sky Sports, BBC, The Telegraph, Evening Standard and talkSPORT.
For more information and booking visit www.londonfootballawards.org or telephone Willow on 01707 259777.

More pictures here